Home News New BEIS Ministerial Team

New BEIS Ministerial Team

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Following the creation of the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, and the appointment of Greg Clarke as the Secretary of State for Business, the full list of the ministerial team of the department has been confirmed.


Greg Clark – Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Greg leads the department’s work across all areas, bringing together responsibilities for business, industrial strategy, science, innovation and energy. His role includes:

  • Developing comprehensive industry strategy and leading the government’s relationship with business
  • Ensuring the country has reliable, affordable and clean energy supplies
  • Ensuring the UK remains at the leading edge of science, research and innovation
  • Tackling climate change


Nick Hurd – Minister of State for Climate Change Industry Climate Change

Nick will be responsible for carbon budgets, with consideration for international climate change, climate science and innovation and the green economy.  Nick also covers Industry and Enterprise, working on advanced manufacturing, materials and automotive.


Jo Johnson – Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation

Jo’s department concerns higher education, science and research, including life sciences and Agri-Tech industrial strategy, as well as innovation. Jo is also a Minister of State in the Department for Education.


Baroness Neville-Rolfe - Minister of State for Energy and Intellectual Property

This section of the department concerns energy and the security of its supply, with support from Jesse Norman, including nuclear, oil and gas, low carbon generation, smart meters and systems and international energy.  Electricity and gas wholesale markets and networks and energy efficiency and heat, including fuel poverty, are also included.  Baroness Neville-Rolfe also leads on intellectual property and the EU single market and is the Lords’ lead on all BEIS issues.


Margot James – Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Small Business, Consumers and Corporate Responsibility (supporting Nick Hurd)

This role covers a range of issues, some of which include small business, enterprise and British Business Bank, retail, consumer and competition.  Other areas include regulatory reform, labour markets, local growth, postal affairs and more.


Jesse Norman – Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Industry and Energy (supporting Nick Hurd)

Jesse addresses technology, infrastructure and construction, aerospace, professional services and rail supply chain.  Jesse also supports Baroness Neville-Rolfe with nuclear energy and oil and gas.

Commercial New Build (SBEM)
Commercial Extensions or Conversions
Domestic New Build (SAP)
Domestic Extensions or Conversions